Press Release


CEPC/SEC/ELE-18/PR                                                                                         12th MAY 2016
In pursuant to the instructions of Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce & Industry , Govt of India, conveyed vide letter NO 12/2/2013-E&MDA dated 7th December 2015 and the decision taken by the Committee of Administration of this Council in its 164th Meeting held on 29th January 2016, the Carpet Export Promotion Council  conducted elections for the posts of First Vice Chairman and 1/3rd Members of the Committee of Administration through web based Electronic Systems  which was notified vide No CEPC/SEC/ELE-18/Cir. No 1/ 2016 dated 31st March 2016.
The Web based election for the post of First Vice Chairman and 1/3rd Members of the Election of the Committee of Administration was conducted through the National Securities   Depository Limited, {NSDL}, Mumbai. On 12th May 2016 in the presence of Shri Ajay Saxena, Deputy Secretary,  Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Government of India, appointed as Observer for CEPC’s Election and three Members of Election Committee viz; Shri Deeptansu Haldar,          Sr. Assistant Director, Office of the Development Commissioner (Handicrafts), Ministry of Textiles, Shri Siddh Nath Singh, M/s. Carpet Handicraft Exports, Mirzapur  and Shri Onkar Nath Misra, Member Committee of Administration, CEPC. The Scrutinizer appointed as per provisions of The Companies Act, Shri Pankaj Agarwal, C.A. after downloading the results from NSDL’s web-site. has handed over the results of the elections for the above posts  to the Returning Officer alongwith votes polled against each candidates.
On the basis of votes polled, the Returning Officer declared the following candidates as elected:  for the posts mentioned against each category:  

Mr. Mahavir Pratap Sharma, M/s Oscar Exports, Jaipur as 1st Vice Chairman, Category- III (States other than U.P. and J&K)  [secured 913 votes], (1) Mr. Umesh Kumar Gupta, M/s The Rug Centre, Bhadohi (secured 890 Votes); (2) Mr. Mohd. Wasif Ansari M/s Teppich-de-Orienta, Bhadohi (secured 852 Votes) & (3) Mr. Sanjay Kumar Gupta, M/s Global Overseas, Gopiganj (secured776 Votes),Members Committee of Administration, Category–I (U.P.), Mr. Sheikh Ashiq Ahmad,         M/s Ferozson Exports Pvt Ltd., Srinagar (secured 904 Votes),Member Committee of Administration, Category-II (J&K), Mr.Sunil Jain, M/s Nirmal International, Panipat (secured 909 Votes);, Member Committee of Administration – Category- III (States other than U.P. and J&K).